Coming soon!!!
Thank you for your patience.

小额融资

小额融资机构是向包括微型企业和个体经营者在内的低收入客户提供贷款的机构。这些客户传统上缺乏从银行机构获得主流融资来源的机会。贷款主要是面向发展中国家的借款人, 金额通常较小(可能是100美元或甚至更低)期限一般为短期(一年或更短)。不象银行机构那样,这些贷款无需抵押资产担保,但通常要求每周分期还款,而不是按月还款。

从本质上说,小额融资专注于经济、社会问题,有时也包括环境问题。例如,电力是小型企业生产或加工产品的基本需要。小额融资可以帮助农村地区发展可再生能源项目获得电力供应,如小型水电或太阳能光伏板项目。因为环境商业机会对它们的业务发展至关重要,小额融资机构几十年来一直在寻求这样的机会。

扩展阅读:

约旦太阳能板项目小额融资
秘鲁小型水电项目融资

租赁

租赁公司向商业客户或个人提供实物资产或服务,供客户在既定时期内使用(有时规定可在合同期满时购买租赁的资产),并定期收取租金。这种交易称为融资租赁。承租人根据租赁合同是资产或服务的接受方,而租赁公司是资产的所有人或服务提供方。租赁资产包括客运车辆、轻型货车、家具、办公设备、电器,以及重型设备如推土机、大型机械、工业设备、轮船、重型卡车和飞机等。在某些情况下,租赁公司既拥有所租赁实物资产的所有权,也负责资产的安装和操作服务,这种交易称为经营租赁。

租赁公司可以出租各种类型的能效和可再生能源设备,包括锅炉、压缩机和加热/制冷设备或太阳能板、太阳能热水器等。租赁也可同时包括安装维护合同和性能保证合同等。

扩展阅读:

土耳其租赁公司提供能效融资案例分析

私募基金

私募基金对公司进行较长期的股权投资(但有时也会使用其它投资方式),通过未来出售股份退出来获利。私募基金通常由一些投资者作为有限合伙人投资成立,而基金则由一位普通合伙人控制。在普通合伙人确定投资机会后,如收购一个公司的控股股份,有限责任合伙人承诺提供资金。私募基金在合伙期内通常投资若干个不同的公司或项目。接受投资的公司或项目可能包括小额融资机构、中小型企业、大公司以及大型项目。
私募基金可通过投资于能效升级和技术更新来提高被投资公司的价值。私募基金还可以投资于制造或提供环境相关产品或服务的公司。例如,一些私募基金专门投资于能效或可再生能源设备制造商。
扩展阅读:

TunInvest通过可持续性增强企业业绩案例分析
Axxess资本投资能效项目案例分析

能源服务公司

能源服务公司通过基于绩效的承包业务帮助客户减少能源使用和需求。能源服务公司作为总承包商,使用标准开销和利润率,可以作为设计/建造商提供融资和担保。以下列出提供全方位服务/高风险承包到基本服务/低风险承包的不同类型的能源服务公司。

全方位服能源服公司这类能源服务公司负责项目的设计、融资和实施,验证节能成效,并在一个一定时期内与客户按商定的百分比分享实际的节能效益。这种方式在美国也称为“节能效益分享”模式。

终端用外包这类能源服务公司承揽设备的操作和维护,并按商定价格向客户出售能源产出(如蒸汽、供热/制冷、照明)。所有设备升级和维修等成本均由能源服务公司承担,但设备的所有权一般仍属客户所有。这种模式有时也称能源费用托管或合同能源管理。

采用第三方融的能源服公司这类能源服务公司负责项目的设计和实施,但不提供融资,尽管公司可能会安排或促成融资。能源服务公司保证节能效益将足以偿付债务。这种模式在美国也称担保节能模式。

合同条款可变的能源服务公司除了节能效益合同条款不同外,这类能源服务公司类似于全方位服务公司。如果实际节能效益小于预期,合同可被延展到允许能源服务公司收回其商定付款。一种模式是“先出”模式,即能源服务公司首先获取所有节能效益,直到其收到商定付款为止。

设备商信用设备供应商负责项目的设计和交付,验证绩效/节能效益是否符合预期。付款可以在项目委托交付后一次付清或分期进行 (通常按预估节能效益)。设备的所有权立即转让给客户。

设备这种模式类似于供应商信用,供应商根据预估节能效益收取固定租金。但在这种模式下,供应商拥有设备的所有权,直到所有租金和转移支付付清为止。

基于绩效收费能源服务公司负责项目审计,协助项目实施。能源服务公司和客户商定一个基于绩效的收费标准,可能包括节能效益较低时的罚款以及节能效益较高时的奖金。

固定收费能源服务公司负责项目的审计、设计,或者协助客户实施项目,或者仅向客户提供咨询服务,而收取一次性固定费用。

 

扩展阅读:

Optima Energia案例分析


  • FacebookTwitterLinkedIn
  • Share

Coming soon!!!
Thank you for your patience.

MICROFINANCE

Microfinance institutions are organizations that provide loans to low-income clients, including micro-companies and the self-employed, who traditionally lack access to mainstream sources of finance from banking institutions. The loans are typically for small amounts (as little as US$ 100 or even less) targeting borrowers in developing countries and usually for a short term (a year or less). The loans are not secured by collateral assets as would be the case for Banking Institutions and require repayment in weekly installments rather than on a monthly basis.

Inherently, microfinance usually addresses economic, social and sometimes environmental issues. For example, electricity is a basic need that allows small businesses to make or process products. Microfinance can provide a rural community with access to electricity through development of renewable energy projects, such as small hydro or photovoltaic (PV) panels. Microfinance institutions have been pursuing environmental business opportunities for decades because they are integral to their business.

Read more:

Microfinancing Solar Panels in Jordan
Financing Small Hydro Schemes in Peru

LEASING

A leasing company provides a physical asset or service for use by a commercial client or individual for an established period of time (sometimes with provisions to purchase asset at the end of the contract) in return for regular payments, known as financial leasing. The lessee is the receiver of the assets or services under the lease contract and the lessor is the owner of the assets or provider of services. Leasing assets include passenger vehicles, light duty trucks, furniture, office equipment, appliances, and heavy equipment, such as earth movers, large machines, industrial equipment, ships, heavy duty trucks, and airplanes. In some cases, a leasing company both owns and services the leased physical asset and is responsible for installing and operating the asset, which is known as operational leasing.

A leasing company can lease all types of energy efficiency and renewable energy equipment including boilers, compressors and heating / cooling equipment or solar panels, solar hot water heaters etc. Leases can be combined with installation and maintenance contracts and performance contracts.

Read more:

Turkish Leasing Company Enters Energy Efficiency Financing Case Study

PRIVATE EQUITY FUND

Private equity funds make equity investments in companies (although sometimes other financial instruments may be used) for a longer term, with the goal of later selling the equity stake at a profit at the time of exit. A Private Equity Fund usually consists of a partnership with investors who are limited partners in the Fund, which is controlled by a general partner. Limited partners commit to provide funding when the general partner has identified an opportunity for investment, such as acquiring a controlling stake of a company. A Fund will typically make separate investments in several companies or projects over the life of the partnership. Investee companies or projects can encompass microfinance institutions, small and medium enterprises, and corporations and large-scale projects.

Private equity funds can strengthen the value of investee companies by investing in energy efficiency upgrades and technology replacements.. Alternatively, PE funds can invest in companies that manufacture or offer environmental related products or services. For example, some PE funds exclusively target energy efficiency or renewable energy equipment manufacturers.

Read more:

TunInvest Enhances Performance Through Sustainability Case Study
Axxess Capital Invests in Energy Efficiency Case Study

ENERGY SERVICE COMPANIES (ESCOs)

Energy Service Companies (ESCOs) provide customers with a means to reduce their energy use and demand through performance based contracting. The ESCO serves as a general contractor using standard overhead and profit margins and is capable of financing and guaranteeing its performance if it serves as a design/builder. The below list ranges from full-service/high risk contracts to low service/risk.

Full-Service ESCO: The ESCO designs, finances and implements the project, verifies energy savings and shares an agreed percentage of the actual energy savings over a fixed period with the customer. This is also referred to as the ‘Shared Savings’ approach in the U.S.

End-Use Outsourcing: The ESCO takes over operation and maintenance of the equipment and sells the output (e.g., steam, heating/cooling, lighting) to the customer at an agreed price. Costs for all equipment upgrades, repairs, etc. are borne by the ESCO, but ownership typically remains with the customer. This model is also sometimes referred to as Chauffage or Contract Energy Management.

ESCO w/ Third Party Financing: The ESCO designs and implements the project but does not finance it, although it may arrange for or facilitate financing. The ESCO guarantees that the energy savings will be sufficient to cover debt service payments. This is also referred to as Guaranteed Savings in the U.S.

ESCO Variable Term Contract: This is similar to the full-service ESCO, except that the contract term can vary based on actual savings. If actual savings are less than expected, the contract can be extended to allow the ESCO to recover its agreed payment. A variation is the ‘First Out’ model, where the ESCO takes all the energy savings benefits until it has received its agreed payment.

Equipment Supplier Credit: The equipment supplier designs and commissions the project, verifying that the performance/energy savings matches expectations. Payment can either be made on a lump-sum basis after commissioning or over time (typically from the estimated energy savings). Ownership of the equipment is transferred to the customer immediately.

Equipment Leasing: Similar to supplier credit, the supplier receives fixed payments from the estimated energy savings. However, in this case the supplier owns the equipment until all the lease payments, and any transfer payments, are completed.

Technical Consultant (w/ Performance-based Payments): The ESCO conducts an audit and assists with project implementation. The ESCO and customer agree on a performance-based fee, which can include penalties for lower energy savings and bonuses for higher savings.

Technical Consultant (w/ Fixed Payments): The ESCO conducts an audit, designs the project and either assists the customer to implement the project or simply advises the customer for a fixed, lump-sum fee.

Read more:

Optima Energia Case Study


  • FacebookTwitterLinkedIn
  • Share